What surprises tourists from all over the world?

Uzbekistan is a country where you can spend your time just eating, just hiking in the desert, just exploring medieval architecture, and still have to come back again and again to see more!

Welcome to Uzbekistan, where the sun shines all year round! To the country with the most ancient history and unique culture, which has been preserved for centuries. Take for example the famous Gur-Emir!

 

 

Gur-Emir with aquamarine dome

 

Gur-Emir

Гуд-Эмир

 

When Soviet troops discovered and opened Amir Timur's tomb in 1941, archaeologists found the inscription "When I rise from the dead, the world will shudder" carved in stone.

 

Muslim clergy and locals tried to prevent the Russians from opening the tomb - they feared that a curse would fall on the neighborhood. After all, Timur was one of the world's greatest warriors, his own Genghis Khan, feared and loved throughout the medieval world. The opening of his tomb in the midst of World War II seemed very fortunate. Two days after his tombstone was removed from the Gur Emir Mausoleum in Samarkand, the Nazis invaded Russia in Operation Barbarossa. Stalin, nervous and superstitious, ordered Timur's remains reburied with honors. A month later, the Nazis were defeated in the Battle of Stalingrad. Today, looking at the aquamarine-domed Gur-Emir Mausoleum, one can realize that the dome-shaped building might have frightened locals and visitors. It towers above fragrant walnut trees and provides islands of welcome shade under the strong sun. Visitors no longer tremble, eager to go inside. Instead, the interior shimmers with cool blue and green tiles, and you are immediately overwhelmed by the vast space.

 

This is a fitting compliment to a man who once rode a horse across Central Asia, conquering cities and uniting tribes. The Timurid Empire, though somewhat overshadowed in the West by the Italian Renaissance, spawned a Timurid Renaissance in which the sciences and arts flourished. Under Timur, investment in art, architecture, and mathematics began, remnants of which can still be seen today throughout Central Asia.

 

Statues of these Renaissance heroes adorn the squares of the capital Tashkent and the streets of Samarkand. One of them, Mirzo Ulugbek, a 15th-century astronomer and mathematician, changed our view of the stars through his dream of improving the accuracy of telescopes. He built one of the world's largest observatories - you can still see its foundations and understand the scale and importance of knowledge in the Timurid era.

 

At times, traveling through Uzbekistan, the country seems like a living museum. Mausoleums and tombs in bright colors and decorated with unusual geometric patterns. Many of them have stood the test of time, surviving the hot desert winds, while others fell into disrepair but were rebuilt during the Soviet era.

 

 

Samarkand is one of the pearls of Central Asia

 

Samarkand

Самарканд

 

Its name literally means "stone fortress," and walking through the sturdy, squat, square buildings with courtyards and roof terraces, one gets the impression that the city was built with fortification in mind. Samarkand was one of the ancient trading capitals of the Silk Road, where caravans rested and traded during the long journeys between Turkey in the West and China in the East. This influence is evident in the architecture - minarets and domed roofs - but is most pronounced in the food.

 

 

Eat heartily!

 

Uzbek cuisine

Узбекская кухня

 

Food is one of the country's main attractions. Dinners in Uzbekistan are always better under the stars, and dishes such as eggplant and pomegranate salad and the ubiquitous achichuk (tomato and onion salad) grace every table - served to set off the hearty lamb kebab and piles of pilaf.

 

Pilaf is the national dish of Uzbekistan - on paper it's just rice, carrots and meat. But it's the hospitality that accompanies plov, which is cooked in huge cauldrons and served at plov centers throughout the cities and towns, that makes it special. Choose your plov, top it with salad, egg or kazy (horse sausage) and sit down at a large communal table to eat with the locals. In second place is lagman - bowls of steaming thick noodles (as a sign of respect to Chinese traders) in meat broth, with bell peppers, eggplant and potatoes.

 

If pilaf is ubiquitous, bread is sacred in Uzbekistan. Wheels of nekhleb - stretched dough baked in tandyr ovens - are sold on almost every corner. In the Fergana Valley, bakers sell bread smeared with sour cream left over from the Soviet Union. In Samarkand, it is eaten hot from the oven and torn by hand. It is never cut with a knife or put upside down - it is disrespectful.

 

Other street snacks include sаmsa - crispy triangular flatbreads filled with hot pumpkin or lamb mince. These are the perfect snacks for exploring Registan, the heart of the ancient city!

 

 

Registan - the heart of the ancient city

 

Registan

Регистан

 

Imagine a Roman forum where people once gathered to listen to the king's announcements of wars or famines, and you get the Registan. Three huge madrasas, or religious schools, now line the square: inside they are filled with stalls selling Samarkand silk paper and beautiful dyed fabrics. These are living, breathing buildings, but they are also some of the most beautiful places you can visit on our planet.

 

The sheer scale of them is mind-boggling! A short walk from the Registan is Shah-i-Zindi, a hill dotted with a maze of turquoise and gold mausoleums, where you can wade through arched doorways and brightly colored tiled structures.

 

Today Samarkand is a modern city with significant historical sites, but if you want to see one of Asia's best-preserved cities on your way to the Tien Shan and the Kyzylkum Desert, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, Bukhara is a good place to stop. Ancient traders thought so too, and the city abounds with the lodges and resting places of caravanserais. At sunset, the stone glows warm gold, and swallows fly down from the towers and swoop over the heads of visitors drinking mint tea in the courtyards.

 

As dusk falls from the desert, the muezzin's call to prayer from every mosque echoes through the empty streets and the city center empties out, leaving the few visitors who make it here feeling like a kid who got the keys to the museum after dark.

 

 

Underground Tashkent

 

 

Not everything in Uzbekistan is ancient. Travel back a few centuries by taking the Afrosaib, a train linking Samarkand in the southwest of the country with the capital, Tashkent. There are corners of real beauty in Tashkent, and one of them is underground.

 

Tashkent's subway is like a living art gallery, and until 2018 it was forbidden to take photos here because it was used as a bomb shelter. Now you can take photos of the amazing vaulted ceilings, historic murals and quirky light sculptures. At Birunyi station, the ceiling looks like it was mosaicked out of eggshells, and at Garfur Galom station, green columns that would have been out of place in Gaudi's Barcelona support a ceiling mottled with cylindrical holes.

 

It's a land of dusty red and green colors, thick layers of history and culture, influencing not only the architecture and cuisine, but the entire world.

feb 28, 2024
28

Skyway articles

Useful and interesting

Read article arrow
When is the best time to travel to Kazakhstan

When exactly is the best time to visit Kazakhstan and how to get the most out of your stay in this country?

Read article arrow
(ru) 13 удивительных вещей, которые стоит сделать в Алматы

(ru) Казахстан радушно приглашает вас! И предлагает лучшие места и локации в Алматы, которые понравятся любителям истории и современности, взрослым и детям, молодежи и зрелым путешественникам.

Read article arrow
10 must-see places in Astana!

Kazakhstan is a wonderful country for recreation and entertainment. And in its capital Astana there are many beautiful places that attract tourists from all over the world. There are real "pearls" here, once you see them, you will definitely not forget! Here is our list of wonderful places in Astana!

Что удивляет туристов со всего мира?

Узбекистан - это страна, в которой можно провести время только за едой, только в походах по пустыне, только в изучении средневековой архитектуры, и все равно придется возвращаться снова и снова, чтобы увидеть больше!

Добро пожаловать в Узбекистан, где солнце светит круглый год! В страну с древнейшей историей и уникальной культурой, которая сохранилась в веках. Взять хотя бы знаменитый Гур-Эмир!

 

 

Гур-Эмир с аквамариновым куполом

 

Gur-Emir

Гуд-Эмир

 

Когда в 1941 г. советские войска обнаружили и вскрыли гробницу Амира Тимура, археологи нашли высеченную на камне надпись "Когда я восстану из мертвых, мир содрогнется".

 

Мусульманское духовенство и местные жители пытались помешать русским открыть гробницу - они опасались, что на окрестности падет проклятие. Ведь Тимур был одним из величайших воинов мира, своим собственным Чингисханом, которого боялись и любили во всем средневековом мире. Вскрытие его гробницы в разгар Второй мировой войны казалось очень удачным. Через два дня после того, как его надгробие было снято с мавзолея Гур-Эмир в Самарканде, нацисты вторглись в Россию в ходе операции "Барбаросса". Сталин, нервный и суеверный, приказал перезахоронить останки Тимура с почестями. Через месяц нацисты были разгромлены в Сталинградской битве. Сегодня, глядя на мавзолей Гур-Эмир с аквамариновым куполом, можно понять, что куполообразное здание могло напугать местных жителей и приезжих. Оно возвышается над благоухающими ореховыми деревьями и под сильным солнцем дает островки желанной тени. Посетители больше не трепещут, желая войти внутрь. Вместо этого интерьер переливается холодными голубыми и зелеными плитками, и вы сразу же оказываетесь потрясенными огромным пространством.

 

Это достойный комплимент в сторону человека, который когда-то проехал на коне через всю Центральную Азию, завоевывая города и объединяя племена. Империя Тимуридов, хотя и была несколько заслонена на Западе итальянским Возрождением, породила Тимуридский ренессанс, в котором расцвели науки и искусства. При Тимуре начались инвестиции в искусство, архитектуру и математику, остатки которых можно увидеть и сегодня по всей Центральной Азии.

 

Статуи этих героев эпохи Возрождения украшают площади столицы Ташкента и улицы Самарканда. Один из них, Мирзо Улугбек, астроном и математик XV века, изменил наше представление о звездах благодаря своей мечте повысить точность телескопов. Он построил одну из крупнейших в мире обсерваторий - до сих пор можно увидеть ее фундамент и понять масштаб и важность знаний в эпоху Тимуридов.

 

Временами, путешествуя по Узбекистану, страна кажется живым музеем. Мавзолеи и гробницы, выполненные в ярких красках и украшенные необычными геометрическими узорами. Многие из них выдержали испытание временем, устояв под жаркими ветрами пустыни, другие пришли в упадок, но были восстановлены в годы советской власти.

 

 

Самарканд - одна из жемчужин Центральной Азии

 

Samarkand

Самарканд

 

Его название буквально означает "каменная крепость", и, прогуливаясь по прочным, приземистым, квадратным зданиям с внутренними двориками и террасами на крышах, создается впечатление, что город построен с расчетом на укрепление. Самарканд был одной из древних торговых столиц Шелкового пути, где караваны отдыхали и торговали во время долгих путешествий между Турцией на Западе и Китаем на Востоке. Это влияние прослеживается в архитектуре - минаретах и куполообразных крышах, - но наиболее ярко оно проявляется в еде.

 

 

Ешьте от души!

 

Uzbek cuisine

Узбекская кухня

 

Еда - одна из главных достопримечательностей страны. Ужины в Узбекистане всегда лучше проводить под звездным небом, а такие блюда, как салат из баклажанов и граната, а также вездесущий ачичук (салат из помидоров и лука), украшают каждый стол - их подают, чтобы оттенить сытный шашлык из баранины и груды плова.

 

Плов - национальное блюдо Узбекистана - на бумаге это просто рис, морковь и мясо. Но именно гостеприимство, сопровождающее плов, который готовят в огромных казанах и подают в центрах плова по городам и весям, делает его особенным. Выберите свой плов, добавьте к нему салат, яйцо или казы (конскую колбасу) и садитесь за большой общий стол, чтобы поесть вместе с местными жителями. На втором месте стоит лагман - миски исходящей паром густой лапши (в знак уважения к китайским торговцам) на мясном бульоне, с болгарским перцем, баклажанами и картофелем.

 

Если плов распространен повсеместно, то хлеб в Узбекистане священен. Практически на каждом углу продаются колеса с нехлебом - растянутым тестом, выпеченным в тандырных печах. В Ферганской долине пекари продают хлеб, намазанный сметаной, оставшейся со времен Советского Союза. В Самарканде его едят горячим из печи и разрывают руками. Его никогда не режут ножом и не кладут вверх ногами - это неуважительно.

 

Среди других уличных закусок - сомса - хрустящие треугольные лепешки с начинкой из горячего тыквенного или бараньего фарша. Это идеальные закуски для знакомства с Регистаном, сердцем древнего города!

 

 

Регистан - сердце древнего города

 

Registan

Регистан

 

Представьте себе римский форум, где когда-то собирались люди, чтобы послушать объявления короля о войнах или голоде, - и вы получите Регистан. Три огромных медресе, или религиозных школы, сегодня расположены вдоль площади: внутри они заполнены киосками, где продается самаркандская шелковая бумага и красивые крашеные ткани. Это живые, дышащие здания, но они также являются одними из самых красивых мест, которые вы можете посетить на нашей планете.

 

Их масштаб поражает воображение! В нескольких минутах ходьбы от Регистана находится Шах-и-Зинди - холм, усеянный лабиринтом бирюзовых и золотых мавзолеев, где можно пробираться сквозь арочные дверные проемы и яркие изразцовые постройки.

 

Сегодня Самарканд - это современный город со значительными историческими достопримечательностями, но если вы хотите увидеть один из наиболее хорошо сохранившихся городов Азии на пути к Тянь-Шаню и пустыне Кызылкум, являющимся объектом всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО, то Бухара - это хорошее место для остановки. Так считали и древние торговцы, и город изобилует домиками и местами отдыха караван-сараев. На закате камень светится теплым золотом, а с башен слетают ласточки и проносятся над головами посетителей, пьющих мятный чай во дворах.

 

С наступлением сумерек из пустыни по пустым улочкам доносится призыв муэдзина к молитве из каждой мечети, и центр города пустеет, оставляя тех немногих посетителей, которые добираются сюда, чувствовать себя ребенком, получившим ключи от музея после наступления темноты.

 

 

Подземный Ташкент

 

 

В Узбекистане не все так древне. Перенеситесь на несколько столетий вперед, сев на афросаиб - поезд, связывающий Самарканд на юго-западе страны со столицей Ташкентом. В Ташкенте есть уголки настоящей красоты, и один из них находится под землей.

 

Ташкентское метро напоминает живую картинную галерею, и до 2018 года здесь было запрещено фотографировать, так как оно использовалось в качестве бомбоубежища. Теперь вы можете фотографировать удивительные сводчатые потолки, исторические фрески и причудливые световые скульптуры. На станции "Бируний" потолок выглядит так, будто его выложили мозаикой из яичной скорлупы, а на станции "Гарфур Галом" зеленые колонны, которые были бы неуместны в Барселоне Гауди, поддерживают потолок, испещренный цилиндрическими отверстиями.

 

Это страна пыльных красных и зеленых цветов, толстых слоев истории и культуры, влияющих не только на архитектуру и кухню, но и на весь мир.

май 26, 2024
28

Skyway статьи

Полезное и интересное

Читать статью arrow
Когда лучше ехать в Казахстан

Когда именно лучше всего посещать Казахстан и как получить максимум удовольствия от пребывания в этой стране?

Читать статью arrow
13 удивительных вещей, которые стоит сделать в Алматы

Казахстан радушно приглашает вас! И предлагает лучшие места и локации в Алматы, которые понравятся любителям истории и современности, взрослым и детям, молодежи и зрелым путешественникам.

Читать статью arrow
10 мест в Астане, обязательных к посещению!

Казахстан - прекрасная страна для отдыха и развлечений. И в ее столице Астане много красивых мест, которые привлекают туристов со всего мира. Здесь есть настоящие «жемчужины», увидев которые, точно не забудешь! Вот наш список замечательных мест в Астане!