Skyway places

Description

The Karagiye valley is the lowest point in Kazakhstan and is located 50 km from Aktau on the endless Mangyshlak Peninsula. The name comes from the Turkic word "Karakiya", which translated into Russian means "kara" - "black” and "kiya"-"steep hillside ", which rather accurately reflects the character of this valley. Also, the locals call it "Batyr", translated into Russian "Warrior". At the bottom of the valley there is an almost dried relict lake "Batyr". However, it is impossible to get close to him because of obstruction in the surroundings.

Karagiye stretches for 85 kilometers in length and up to 25 kilometers in width and was previously part of the Caspian Sea. According to archaeological data, the occurrence of the valley is associated with phenomena characteristic of this region of the Caspian Sea, known as karst.
Groundwater in these places, seeped deep into the earth and for centuries dissolved rocks. The result of this phenomenon was the formation of underground voids, a grotto and caves, which collapsed under their own weight of sandy layers and filled with crushed rock. The depth of the valley has reached more than 130 meters below sea level and continues to increase.

Photographs taken from space showed that the Karagie dry trench plays the role of a natural creator of heavy clouds: as a result of the rising air flow, many kilometers of rain clouds stretch over the trough.

You can reach the valley in about an hour by car from the center of Aktau. However, this path will not be easy, because the path to the bottom of the valley is rocky and steep. The city of Aktau can be reached by train from different cities of Kazakhstan, and the international airport receives flights from Russia, Turkey and Georgia.

Skyway places

Location map

Map created with Maps Marker Pro could not be displayed because of an invalid license. Please contact the site owner for more details.

Skyway tours

Popular tours

3 days / 2 nights|from 117 867 KZT
(ru) Алматы

Almaty is my first love (no avia, 3 days)

Online booking
4 days / 3 nights|from 186 600 KZT
Almaty

Tour of the Southern Capital — Almaty

2 days / 1 night|from 140 267 KZT
Almaty

Two-day tour to Kolsai lake and Black Canyon

Online booking
3 days / 2 nights|from 131 200 KZT
Turkestan

Holy Turkestan

Online booking
1 day|from 16 000 KZT
Turkestan

«Ancient Turkestan» — A Touch of History

3 days / 2 nights|from 175 200 KZT
Turkestan

Turkestan — the pearl of the Silk Road

Online booking
More all-tours

Skyway места

Описание

Впадина «Карагие» является самой низкой точкой Казахстана и расположена в 50 км от Актау на бескрайнем полуострове Мангышлак. Название произошло от тюркского слово «каракия», что в переводе на русский означает «кара» - «черный и «кия» - «крутой косогорь», что довольно точно отражает характер этой впадины. Также местные жители называют её «Батыр», в переводе на русский «Воин». На дне впадины находится почти высохшее реликтовое озеро «Батыр». Однако к нему подобраться невозможно из-за непроходимости по окрестностям.

Карагие раскинулась на 85 километров в длину и до 25 км в ширину и прежде являлась частью Каспийского моря. По археологическим данным, возникновение впадины связано с характерными для данного региона Каспийского моря явлениями, известными как карстовые.
Подземные воды в этих местах, просачивались вглубь земли и веками растворили горные породы. Результатом этого явления стало образование подземных пустот, грот и пещер, которые проваливались под собственной тяжестью песчаных слоев и заполнялись размельченной породой. Глубина впадины достигла более 130 метров ниже уровня моря и продолжает увеличиваться.

Фотографические снимки сделанные из космоса, показали, что сухая впадина Карагие играет роль природного образователя тяжелых туч: в следствие восходящих потоков воздуха в жаркую пору над впадиной протягивается многокилометровые дождевые облака.

Доехать до впадины можно примерно за час езды на автомобиле от центра города Актау. Однако этот путь будет непростым, поскольку путь на дно котловины каменистый и крутой. В город Актау можно добраться на поезде из разных городов Казахстана, а международный аэропорт принимает рейсы из России, Турции и Грузии.

Skyway туры

Популярные туры

7 дней|от 988$ / 2 pax

Открывая Южную Столицу Казахстана

2 Дня|147 000 т

Almaty — Wonderful city of Apples

2 Дня|135 000 т

The Heritage of the Great Silk Road

1 День|38 000 KZT

Shining Pearl of Kazakhstan

5 дней|от 650$ / 2 pax

В страну Небесных Гор

5 дней|от 770$ / 2 pax

Алматы —
город тысячи красок!

Показать больше all-tours