Skyway places

Description

Not far from the amazing Bibi Khanum mosque, on the slope of the Afrosiab hill, there is another magnificent monument of medieval architecture - the Shahi Zinda necropolis, which means “a living king” in Persian, the first buildings of which date from the 11th-12th centuries.

Locals call this place “street-cemetery” because there are 11 mausoleums in the necropolis that make up a very harmonious composition, where the remains of royal persons and nobles of Samarkand, many of which were elevated to the rank of saints, rest. In the center of the necropolis of Shahi Zinda is an unfinished building, which was the last refuge of the warlord Great Timur. The main mausoleum of the entire complex is the grave of Kusam ibn Abbas, known as the cousin of the Prophet Mohammed. For more than 13 years he was in the area and preached Islam. Every year hundreds of Muslims from all over the world make pilgrimages here, not to mention tourists.

The majestic necropolis, remarkably preserved to this day, delights with its beauty and rich design, thanks to which it was even listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Its main feature, which enraptures not only tourists, but also historians, is that in a relatively small area, buildings that are completely different in their architectural design, decor and interior decoration, which clearly demonstrate the development of architecture from different eras - the time of government Emir Timur and for many years before him.

Skyway places

Location map

Skyway tours

Popular tours

4 Days/ 3 nights|from 352 USD

Путешествие в Страну Небесных Гор

5 Days/ 4 nights|from 496 USD

Uzbekistan: Plunge into the world of ancient treasures

1 Day|171 USD

City tour around
Nur-Sultan –
the capital of Kazakhstan

4 Days|1473 USD

All the beauties of Kyrgyzstan mountains in one trip!

5 Days|1140 USD / 2 PAX

Acquaintance with Uzbekistan

4 days|from 305$ / 2 PAX

Exploring Southern Capital of Kazakhstan (Group tour)

More all-tours

Skyway места

Описание

Неподалеку от удивительной мечети Биби-Ханум, на склоне холма Афросиаб, стоит еще один великолепный памятник средневековой архитектуры - некрополь Шахи-Зинда, что в переводе с персидского означает «живой царь», первые постройки которого датируются XI-XII веками.

Местные жители называют это место “улица-кладбище”, потому что на территории некрополя располагается 11 мавзолеев, составляющих весьма гармоничную композицию, где покоятся останки царственных особ и знати Самарканда, многие из которых были возведены в ранг святых. В центре некрополя Шахи-Зинды находится недостроенное здание, которое являлось последним пристанищем военачальника Великого Тимура. Основным мавзолеем всего комплекса является могила Кусама ибн-Аббаса, известный как двоюродный брат пророка Мухаммеда. Более 13 лет он находился в данной местности и проповедовал Ислам. Ежегодно сюда совершают паломничества сотни мусульман со всего мира, не говоря уже о туристах.

Величественный некрополь, замечательно сохранившийся до наших дней, восхищает своей красотой и богатым оформлением, благодаря чему он даже был внесен в список всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

Его главная особенность, приводящая в восторг не только туристов, но и ученых-историков, заключается в том, что на сравнительно небольшой территории соседствуют совершенно разные по своему архитектурному исполнению, декору и внутреннему убранству сооружения, которые наглядно демонстрируют развитие зодчества разных эпох - время правления эмира Тимура и за долгие годы до него.

Skyway туры

Популярные туры

7 дней|от 988$ / 2 pax

Открывая Южную Столицу Казахстана

2 Дня|147 000 т

Almaty — Wonderful city of Apples

2 Дня|135 000 т

The Heritage of the Great Silk Road

1 День|38 000 KZT

Shining Pearl of Kazakhstan

5 дней|от 650$ / 2 pax

В страну Небесных Гор

5 дней|от 770$ / 2 pax

Алматы —
город тысячи красок!

Показать больше all-tours